Saturday, March 3, 2012

Rush Limbaugh vs Sandra Fluke - My Opinion

Ok some of you have asked me my thoughts on the whole Rush Limbaugh debacle and first let me say that I don't listen to Limbaugh regularly ( because I have better things to do like watch paint dry) but sometimes I agree with him and sometimes I disagree. Putting my personal feelings aside, it bothers me the way Conservatives like he and Ann Coulter, for example, are not allowed to have personalities. Now don't get me wrong, his personal attacks towards Sandra Fluke - calling her a slut, went too far but I agree with his overall sentiments. You know it's not enough that in history contraceptives became legal (yes there was a time when they were illegal ) and women and men are free to purchase them. Now, that's not good enough and many Liberals want private insurance companies to be forced to provide them. Listen folks, putting all the moral/religious conflicts aside (because they are irrelevant really), it is unconstitutional for the federal government to coerce a private business to sell a certain product. I would argue that for some women (certainly not all or most) have a medical necessity for birth control and those needs should be addressed if no other solution is available. Sandra Fluke is using the medical need that SOME women have to get birth control for herself because she says that birth control is too expensive while in law school. Her need is not a medically necessary one and her motives are selfish. She is taking advantage of the fact that there are women for whom it is a necessity so her sexual habits will be covered - Shame on you Ms. Fluke! It's just like the Liberals who are pro-abortion and they just want to be able to have abortions so they say "But what about the women who become pregnant from rape or incest? Should they be forced to have the baby?" They purposely present the worst possible scenario in order to appeal to people's emotions rather than reason. They know full well that the overwhelming majority of women who have abortions do so as a form of birth control and women who want to have one after rape or incest are absolutely the small minority. In fact, over 85% of pregnant rape victims DO NOT have abortions, but, I digress. What troubles me even more is that Sandra Fluke along with many other women who want their contraceptives covered almost never consider the other options. So, here they are:


#1 If you can't afford safe sex, then STOP having sex until you CAN! (for the record I support abstinence before marriage)

 #2 Look at your expenses and cut back in other areas (cut the $5 a day StarBucks habit or do your own pedicures & manicures)

 #3 Go to the government run health clinic and get low to no cost contraceptives like everyone else! (Does Ms. Fluke think she is too good for this?)

 #4 Georgetown University's insurance is mandatory & there is only one choice, so she could start a movement to have a choice on campus or get a supplemental plan that pays for it or reduces the cost of contraceptives - that would earn more respect than thinking she is "entitled" to it & trampling over the Constitution.

and finally:

#5 Listen Ms Fluke, if your boyfriend wants some lovin' make HIM pay! Sandra Fluke says birth control costs her around $3000 for the entire time she will be in law school ( $1000/year) - Listen, she's not having sex by herself (maybe that should be #6) so if he wants to sleep with her HE can split the cost or pay for it entirely because the taxpayers are not "getting any" nor do we benefit from providing her w/birth control pills. Rush Limbaugh expressed this crudely by saying she should provide us with a video of it (come on now Rush!) but I understand where he is coming from!

Another interesting point is that feminists like Sandra Fluke and Nancy Pelosi think that Conservatives who think like me and private insurance companies that do not cover birth control are "infringing upon the rights of women".  Well Ms. Fluke and all of your liberal feminist friends, first of all that could not be further from the truth and YOU are discriminating against MEN! It is ironic to me that  those fighting against private insurance companies that don't cover contraceptives and abortifacient drugs and procedures, want them to cover them in the name of "women's health" but they do not campaign for free condoms or vasectomies for MEN! - as if a woman can get pregnant without a man. Even a test tube baby requires male sperm. Is this reverse gender discrimination perhaps? 

 The bottom line is that we are each responsible for our own behavior and habits. I don't care what anyone else does in the privacy of their bedroom and  I'd appreciate it if Liberals would stop trying to force us to participate in a menage a trois by shoving me into their bedrooms with my tax dollars and their partners - No thanks! Not interested! What is next paying for cigarettes for people who can't afford them or forcing Marlboro to hand them out for free or low cost? I don't approve of Limbaugh's name-calling and the crude nature of his remarks, but I certainly agree with his underlying sentiments. The tax payers are not "Johns" and if you want to have sex pay for your own dam condoms, birth control and abortions (and no I don't approve of nor support abortion) - leave the private sector alone and stay out of taxpayers pockets! 

No comments:

Post a Comment